Walking the Path of the Six Paramitas

with Elizabeth Mattis Namgyel
Saturday, May 29, 2021 to Sunday, May 30, 2021
Online hosted by:
Pema Osel Do Ngak Choling

In this year’s Mahayana Essentials program, hosted by Pema Osel, Elizabeth will teach on the six paramitas, or “transcendent actions”: generosity, discipline, patience, diligence, meditation, and wisdom. These practices, which are fundamental to the development of wisdom and altruism on the bodhisattva path, are grounded in seeing the world as a field of opportunity for developing our most noble qualities. The paramitas provide a path for engaging our life in a non-egocentric and graceful manner and create a sense of well-being for both self and others. 

Elizabeth’s three talks will include guided meditation and Q&A. 

 

 

Program Details

Before the Saturday and Sunday morning talks, there will be half-hour guided meditation sessions. We will also have discussion groups before the Saturday afternoon talk. All of these will be hosted on Zoom and led by senior students.

Financial Support

The proceeds from this program support Pema Osel, our center in Vermont where Elizabeth usually gives these teachings in person. In order to support our annual budget, we hope that most people are able to pay the full amount. However, no one will be turned away for financial reasons. If you can't pay in full, don't let that be an obstacle. Contact us here by May 25th for more information on payment options. 

Program Schedule - Please Note: Times are in Mountain Daylight Time (MT) and Eastern Daylight TIme (ET)

Saturday, May 29
Meditation via Zoom (optional): 9 - 9:30 am MT/ 11-11:30 am ET
Talk 1: 10 - Noon MT/ 12- 2 pm ET
Discussion groups via Zoom (optional): 1:30 - 2:30 pm MT/ 3:30 - 4:30 pm ET
Talk 2: 3 - 5 pm MT/ 5 - 7 pm ET

Sunday, May 30
Meditation via Zoom (optional): 9 - 9:30 am MT/ 11-11:30 am ET
Talk 3: 10 - Noon MT/ 12 - 2 pm ET

You will receive a welcome email closer to the program with information on how to join the Zoom meditation and discussion groups, and a link to the opening and closing chants. Stay tuned for the welcome email.


More about Elizabeth Mattis Namgyel

Elizabeth Mattis Namgyel has studied and practiced the Buddhadharma for over 35 years under the guidance of her teacher and husband Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche. She is the retreat master of Samten Ling in Crestone, Colorado, and has spent over six years in retreat. She holds a degree in anthropology and an M.A. in Buddhist Studies. She teaches throughout the U.S., Australia, and Europe.

She is the author of The Power of an Open Question: The Buddha’s Path to Freedom and The Logic of Faith: A Buddhist Path to Finding Certainty Beyond Belief and Doubt.

Elizabeth is known for her use of inquiry as a means to reach a place of genuine practice and awakening. She asks audiences to engage in the practice of open questioning with her while she takes a fresh look at the assumptions and beliefs we have about spirituality. In particular, Elizabeth is fascinated with the Buddha’s essential teachings on the natural principle of pratityasamutpada, dependent arising. Audiences repeatedly comment on how her approach has reinvigorated their meditation practice and the way they relate to their lives as a whole.

Learn more about Elizabeth's activities, including her new non-profit organization, The Middle Way Initiative, on her website here.


Contact: 
Vanessa Waxman